The Puetz Award for most valuable player was donated in 1982 by the Puetz family to honor George Puetz, a long-time sponsor and supporter of junior golf. It is awarded to a boy and girl following the Junior Americas Cup Team Matches. These are international events with 16 or 17 four-man teams in attendance for a total of 64 to 68 of the best players in the Western states, including Hawaii, Mexico, British Columbia and Alberta. Winners are selected by blind ballot of the team members.

Puetz Award Winners

In 1977, Otto Mengert of Spokane CC donated a trophy in the name of his son, Al Mengert, a professional golfer, to be awarded to the most inspirational junior golfer. Mengert was the U.S. Junior Champion in l946-47, Washington State Amateur champion in l949-50 and was a top-ranked amateur in the U.S. in l952. The inspirational award was given to WJGA members who best meet the following criteria — positive attitude both winning and losing, good role model (for younger players), successful player, works hard to achieve goals, encourages others to do their best, shows growth, maturity and improvement.

Mengert Inspirational Award Winners

joanWhen Washington Junior Golf Association was founded thirty-nine years ago, Joan Teats wanted junior golfers like you, to be exposed to the wonderful experience of the game of golf.  From the fellowship that comes with competing with others while striving to do your best, the integrity that arises from the honor system that is at the heart of playing this game, to the strength of character that comes from suffering the ups and downs of competition with grace and courage and a refusal to quit, the true worth of this program, she feels, is the way the trials and tribulations of the golf links help prepare juniors for success later in life.

In 1977, Otto Mengert dedicated a trophy in the name of his son Al, to be awarded to the most inspirational junior golfer. In 1993, the Washington Junior Golf Association Board of Directors voted to re-name this award after its founder, Joan Teats.  This award is now presented to one WJGA member in each of our six districts who best meet the following criteria:

Positive attitude both winning and losing
Good role model for younger players
Successful competitor
Works hard to achieve goals
Encourages others to do their best
Shows growth and maturity

Joan Teats Inspirational Award Winners
State Championship History